last remains of empathy ~ clotted into sounds

Jeanne Artemis Strieder [ʒan ɑːrtɪmɪs ʃtriːder] is a composer and artist.

The purpose of her work is to create solace and compassion for the invisible suffering of the many and the few. The results are individual aural bodies that seek connection with those who experience darkness.

The origins for her musical mind were found by her at an early age in the european modernism, the achievements of cultures outside of europe and the innovative forms of the underground music scenes.

Her music is performed around the world, in e.g. Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Iran, Italy, Mexico, Sweden, United Kingdom and USA.

A selection of pieces

Literatura Oscura I.
for my being, I am
obscured light
4 erloschene bilder
message II


List of Compositions

  • umschlungen (2020) for Soprano, Accordion, Bassflute and Percussion
  • for my being, I am (2019) for 22 Solo Strings in two groups (listen)
  • the teeth within the chasm (2019) for two Guitars
  • decessio (2015-2019) for Oboe, Violin and Bass Recorder (listen)
  • verbunden (2018) for Oboe, Tenor Recorder, Violin and Violoncello
  • hinab (2013-2018) for Sub Double Bass Recorder
  • bleed down black (2013-2018) for Tenor Recorder
  • Scherben (2015) for Soprano and Violoncello (listen)
  • message II (2014) for Viola Solo (listen)
  • obscured light (2014) for Bass Recorder, Violin and Violoncello (listen)
  • to abandon oneself (2014) for Alto Recorder, Bass Clarinet, Violin and Violoncello (listen)
  • sunken contour (2013) for Bass Recorder and (String-)Piano [in revision] (listen)
  • inked into silence (2013) for Bass Clarinet, Violoncello and Double Bass (listen)
  • ... ins Dunkel geschlagen (2012) for Bass Recorder, Violin and Violoncello
  • message (2012-2014) for Viola Solo (listen)
  • fractured:epode (2012) for Violoncello Solo
  • Literatura Oscura I (2011) for Violin, Viola and Violoncello (listen)
  • Canto (2011) for String Sextet [in revision]
  • Haptische Schatten (2010) for Violoncello Quintet [in revision]
  • 4 erloschene Bilder (2010-2013) for Guitar Solo (listen)
  • Fenster (2004-2017) for Piano Solo (listen)
  • Langsamer Satz (2004) for String Quartet
  • Unbenannt (2003) for String Sextet [in revision]